Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Readers' Poll Results: Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto

Thank you as always for your responses -- a diversity of favorite recordings for this work!  Here are the results of our most recent poll:

Columbia/CBS MS 6298
David Oistrakh, Eugene Ormandy/Philadelphia Orchestra

Columbia SAX 2323 (WRC ST562)
Leonid Kogan, Constantin Silvestri/Paris Conservatoire Orchestra

Crossroads 22 16 0224 (WRC R-00066)
Hyman Bress, Sir Adrian Boult/London Philharmonic Orchestra

Decca LXT 2970 (mono) (ACL 25)
Mischa Elman, Sir Adrian Boult/London Philharmonic Orchestra

Decca SXL 2279 (London CS 6215)
Ruggiero Ricci, Sir Malcolm Sargent/London Symphony Orchestra

Decca SXL 6493 (London CS 6710)
Kyung-Wha Chung, Andre Previn/London Symphony Orchestra

Deutsche Grammophon SLPM 139028
Christian Ferras, Herbert von Karajan/Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Deutsche Grammophon 2532 001
Gidon Kremer, Lorin Maazel/Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Deutsche Grammophon 419 241-1
Anne Sophie-Mutter, Herbert von Karajan/Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

EMI ASD 2813
Igor Oistrakh, David Oistrakh/Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra

London CS 6011 (Decca SXL 2029 or SPA 183)
Alfredo Campoli, Ataulfo Argenta/London Symphony Orchestra

Philips SGL 5815 (Fontana SFL 14059)
Michele Auclair, Robert Wagner/Innsbruck State Symphony Orchestra

RCA Living Stereo LSC-2129
Jascha Heifetz, Fritz Reiner/Chicago Symphony Orchestra

RCA Red Seal Dynagroove LSC-3014
Itzhak Perlman, Eric Leinsdorf/Boston Symphony Orchestra

Remington R-19920 (mono)
Michele Auclair, Kurt Woss/Austrian Symphony Orchestra

Westminster WST 14017
Erica Morini, Artur Rodzinski/Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra of London

World Record Club ST 574 (Capitol SP 8512)
Nathan Milstein, William Steinberg/Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

No comments:

Post a Comment